On October 4, 2026, California online driver education for teens cost between $19.97 and $49.95 on the providers' own pages, before any shipping upgrades or add-ons. The course Stallion sells costs $49.95, paid once on Stallion's secure enrollment page. It is not the cheapest; this page shows the differences so you can choose.
What do the main California online courses cost?
Most providers show a sale price next to a higher regular price. The table lists both as they appeared on October 4, 2026. Sale prices change often, so check the provider's page on the day you enroll.
| Provider | Price shown | Regular price shown | License number on their page | Certificate delivery |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Traffic Tutors (Stallion's enrollment page) | $49.95 | None shown | E0159 | Paper DL 400C mailed by USPS |
| Aceable | $49 sale | $70 | E2017 (the page also lists #4442) | Free standard USPS; faster options $10 to $55 |
| DMVedu | $44.95 | $59.95 | 4365 (driver education) | Not stated on the page we read |
| DriversEd.com | $39 with offer | $59 | Not shown on the page we read | USPS mail |
| I Drive Safely | $34.95 | $44.95 | Not shown on the page we read | Not stated on the page we read |
| OnlineDriversEd | $19.97 | None shown | E2033 | Mailed; express shipping available |
What costs can be added on top?
The course price is rarely the whole bill. Three extras show up on these pages, and the DMV and behind-the-wheel training come later for every student.
- Faster certificate shipping. Aceable lists next-day, Saturday and second-day options from $10 to $55. Standard USPS is free there.
- Optional subscriptions. DriversEd.com and I Drive Safely offer roadside assistance at checkout for $5.00 a month after a free month. It is optional and has nothing to do with the course.
- The DMV application fee. Paid at the DMV, set by the DMV, the same for every course. Check the current amount on dmv.ca.gov (opens in a new tab).
- Six hours of behind-the-wheel training with a licensed driving school, required for minors. Prices vary by school and area, and this is usually the largest cost.
What matters more than the price?
Every option above prints a license number, and every student still needs the same DL 400C, permit test and 6 hours of training. The differences that matter are how the certificate reaches you, who helps when something goes wrong, and what happens after the course.
- Check the license. Look the provider up on the DMV's Occupational License Lookup (opens in a new tab) before paying. Our step-by-step guide shows how.
- Know how the certificate arrives. The DL 400C is a paper original. Find out who mails it, how, and what a replacement costs.
- Know who answers the phone. Course problems go to the provider, not to the DMV.
- Plan the next step. The course ends at the permit. Training, practice and the drive test are still ahead.
Why some families choose the Stallion course anyway
The course Stallion sells is the Traffic Tutors 30-hour online course, license E0159. Traffic Tutors runs the course, prints the DL 400C and mails it by USPS. Traffic Tutors says the course is available in English, Spanish, French, Chinese and Arabic, works on phones, saves your place when you log out, and allows unlimited retries until the student passes.
Stallion Drivers Ed is run by Stallion School of Driving, a California DMV-licensed driving school (E0271). The guides on this site, the local pages for DMV offices and driving schools, and the date tool are free whichever course you choose.
Enroll now (opens in a new tab) if it fits your family. Stallion is authorized to sell this course and receives a referral share when you enroll.
Quick answers
Sources
- Stallion School of Driving Driver Education: course signup (Traffic Tutors, E0159), "Only $49.95 for Everything" (opens in a new tab)
- California Department of Education: Driver Education FAQs (opens in a new tab)
- Aceable: California drivers ed (opens in a new tab)
- DMVedu: California drivers ed online (opens in a new tab)
- DriversEd.com: California drivers ed (opens in a new tab)
- I Drive Safely: California drivers ed (opens in a new tab)
- OnlineDriversEd: California drivers education (opens in a new tab)
- California DMV: Driver training schools (opens in a new tab)
Checked: October 5, 2026. Rules and forms can change; recheck the official page before acting.
See something wrong or out of date? Report a mistake on this page. We read every report and fix confirmed mistakes.
